top of page
A nature painting inspired by a British Columbia forest in Vancouver.

PERCEPTION

-- SOLD --

*
First Prize Award, 2022, 5th Landscape art competition,TERAVARNA, Los Angeles, United States

*Best of Show, 2022, Forests & Meadows, Grey Cube Gallery, United States

Specifications

Dimensions: 40 H x 24 W inches
Technique: Acrylic paint, mixed media and tree barks on canvas

Year: 2022
Finish:
Sealed paint with two coats of UV-resistant satin varnish. Outer contour painted black. Painting with hanging system, ready for wall mounting.

Description of the work

This painting was inspired by a magnificent landscape from the city of Vancouver, in the heart of Stanley Park. It was during a bike ride along the park's paths that I spotted these unique-looking trees, distinguished from their fellows by the green moss covering their curved branches. As spring had barely set in, small, delicate and discreet leaves were beginning to decorate the tops of the branches, allowing us to observe the structure of the trees. At the base, the immense trunks were divided into several sections, twirling slightly before continuing their ascent towards the sky, multiplying their chances of reaching that race to the warm rays of the sun first. Capturing this scene with my camera, I hurried to paint it on my return.

The more my canvas took shape, the more convinced I became that I was painting a happy family of trees. Being positive by nature, it was obvious to me that these trees were deeply satisfied with their condition; they reminded me of a close-knit family, each member helping and supporting his neighbor. Happiness reigned! Doubt crept into my mind, however, once I'd completed my painting. I wondered about my interpretation of the scene: what if, on the contrary, these trees, which seemed to grow in symbiosis while huddling together, were rather crowded, suffocating and trying to separate as they grew older, demanding more freedom and personal space? 

As human beings, we often have different ways of interpreting the same situation. Our personality, our upbringing, our life experience, or simply our mood at the time are just some of the many factors that can influence the way we look at things. I have therefore named this painting "Perception", because I believe that the analysis we make of it comes first from the perception of the viewer. 

I myself was caught in the perception trap; I was convinced I had painted several trees, only to realize when I found a photograph of a viewpoint further away from the scene, that I had in fact painted one and only one tree! ...Proof that having a framed vision without knowing what surrounds it can also alter our perception!

Perception

Perception
Processus de création
00:44
Play Video

Processus de création

Peinture étape par étape
00:17
Play Video

Peinture étape par étape

bottom of page

top of page
Une peinture de la nature inspirée d'une forêt de la Colombie-Britannique à Vancouver.

PERCEPTION

-- VENDU --

*First Prize Award, 2022, 5th Landscape art competition,
TERAVARNA, Los Angeles, États-Unis


*Best of Show, 2022, Forests & Meadows, Grey Cube Gallery, États-Unis

Spécifications du tableau

Dimensions : 40 H x 24 L pouces
Technique : Peinture acrylique, médiums mixtes et écorces sur toile galerie

Année : 2022
Finition :
 Peinture scellée avec deux couches de vernis, finition brillant anti UV. Contour extérieur peint en noir. Tableau muni d'un système d'accrochage, prêt à être fixé sur un mur.

Description de l'œuvre

Cette peinture est inspirée d'un magnifique paysage provenant de la ville de Vancouver, en plein coeur du parc Stanley. C'est lors d'une promenade à vélo parmi les sentiers de ce parc que j'ai aperçu ces arbres à l'allure unique, se démarquant de leurs congénères par la mousse verdoyante recouvrant leurs branches courbées. Le printemps venant à peine de s'installer, de légères petites feuilles délicates et discrètes commençaient à garnir le sommet des branches, nous permettant encore d'observer la structure des arbres. À la base, les immenses troncs se divisaient en plusieurs sections, tournoyant légèrement avant de poursuivre leur ascension vers le ciel, multipliant ainsi leurs chances d'atteindre en premier cette course aux chauds rayons du soleil. Captant cette scène à l'aide de mon appareil photo, je me suis empressée de peindre le tout lors de mon retour.

Plus ma toile prenait forme, plus j'étais convaincue que je peignais une famille d'arbres heureuse. Étant de nature positive, il m'était d'une évidence que ces arbres étaient profondément satisfaits de leur condition; ils me faisaient penser à une famille unie, chaque membre entraidant et soutenant son voisin. Le bonheur régnait! Le doute s'est cependant installé dans mon esprit une fois ma peinture complétée. Je me suis alors questionnée sur mon interprétation de la scène; et si, à l'inverse, ces arbres qui semblaient grandir en symbiose tout en se blottissant les uns sur les autres, étaient plutôt entassés, étouffant et essayant de se séparer en vieillissant, demandant plus de liberté et d'espace personnel? 

Comme être humain, nous avons la plupart du temps une façon différente d'interpréter une même situation. Notre personnalité, notre éducation, notre vécu, ou tout simplement notre humeur du moment sont quelques-uns des multiples facteurs pouvant influencer notre regard. J'ai donc nommé cette peinture "Perception", car je crois que l'analyse que l'on en fait vient en premier de la perception de celui qui la regarde. 

J'ai moi-même été prise au piège de la perception; j'étais convaincue d'avoir peint plusieurs arbres, et j'ai réalisé en retrouvant une photographie d'un point de vue plus éloigné de la scène, que j'ai en réalité peint un seul et unique arbre! ...Preuve qu'avoir une vision encadrée sans connaître ce qui l'entoure peut également modifier notre perception!

Perception

Perception
Processus de création
00:44
Lire la vidéo

Processus de création

Peinture étape par étape
00:17
Lire la vidéo

Peinture étape par étape

bottom of page