top of page
A tree with autumn leaves in yellow and orange colors

UNIQUE

-- SOLD --

*
Second Place 2024, AcrylicWorks 11: The Best of Acrylic
Artist Network

*Second Place, 2023 Landscapes Exhibition
Federation of Canadian Artists, Vancouver

*Best Overall, Best in Medium 2023 (Acrylic), International Juried Award Exhibition,
Camelback Gallery, Scottsdale, Arizona, United States


*
Best of show, 2024, Nature Art Exhibition,
Astist Space

Specifications

Dimensions: 24 H x 24 W inches
Technique: Acrylic paint, mixed media and tree barks on canvas

Year: 2023
Finish: Sealed paint with two coats of UV-resistant satin varnish. Outer contour painted black. Painting with hanging system, ready for wall mounting.

Description of the work

When I first started painting on a blank canvas, my intention was to paint trees in close-up. The maple trees were inspired by a photograph I'd taken on a sunny autumn day at the Parc Nature de l'Île-aux-Tourtes in Vaudreuil-Dorion. My concept was to represent the beauty and importance of trees in this public space. So I started by painting the blue sky, then the trees in the background, then the trunks of these maples. And finally the leaves. Fifty-nine. I counted them all. One after the other. Fifty-nine leaves in the foreground.


When viewed from a distance, at first glance, these leaves seem almost identical, all united in a way that dresses the trees in an autumnal color. However, it wasn't until I started painting them one at a time that I noticed how unique they all were. In this scene, some leaves are more discreet than others, the breeze of the moment having decided which leaves would be highlighted. The sun, for its part, has chosen to illuminate some of them, for the moment with a gentle ray diffusing through the light foliage. Each one shines in its own way, and it is in fact the uniqueness of each leaf that embellishes the tree. Even leaves that are starting to wilt, have holes in them or are beginning to fade, are totally perfect in their imperfection. Each one plays a different, but equally important, graphic role in illustrating the ultimate beauty of these maples. 


I'm fond of comparing trees to humans, because I feel that both have characteristics in common. All these leaves give me the impression of a mini-society living together in a community called "Maple". If you look at a crowd from a distance, at first glance you'd notice a gathering of people. But as you get closer, people become individuals in their own right, each with their own individuality and differences. The uniqueness of each person then becomes the richness of this crowd, just as the diversity of these leaves is at the heart of the beauty of these maples.


In creating all these leaves, I hope to have fulfilled my initial mission of expressing the beauty of trees. I sincerely believe that the atmosphere of the magnificent Parc Nature de l'Île-aux-Tourtes would not be the same without these splendid leafy trees!

Unique

Unique
Transfert d'image
00:18
Play Video

Transfert d'image

Utilisation d'un médium mixte
00:13
Play Video

Utilisation d'un médium mixte

Création de l'écorce
00:29
Play Video

Création de l'écorce

Peinture des feuilles
00:35
Play Video

Peinture des feuilles

bottom of page

top of page
Un arbre avec des feuilles d'automnes aux couleurs jaune et orange

UNIQUE

-- VENDU --

*
Second Place 2024, AcrylicWorks 11: The Best of Acrylic,
Artist Network


*2e prix du Jury, 2023 Landscapes Exhibition,
Federation of Canadian Artists, Vancouver

*Best Overall, Best in Medium 2023 (Acrylic), International Juried Award Exhibition,
Camelback Gallery, Scottsdale, Arizona, États-Unis

*Best of show
, 2024, Nature Art Exhibition,
Astist Space

Spécifications du tableau

Dimensions : 24 H x 24 L pouces
Technique : Peinture acrylique, médiums mixtes et écorces sur toile galerie

Année : 2023
Finition : Peinture scellée avec deux couches de vernis, finition satinée anti UV. Contour extérieur peint en noir. Tableau muni d'un système d'accrochage, prêt à être fixé sur un mur.

Description de l'œuvre

Au départ, lorsque ma toile était vierge et que j'ai commencé à peindre, j'avais comme dessein de peindre des arbres en plan rapproché. Des érables inspirés d'une photographie que j'avais prise, un jour ensoleillé d'automne, au Parc nature de l'Île-aux-Tourtes à Vaudreuil-Dorion. Mon concept était de représenter la beauté et l'importance des arbres dans ce lieu public. J'ai donc commencé par peindre le ciel bleu, ensuite les arbres à l'arrière-plan, puis le tronc de ces érables. Et finalement les feuilles. Cinquante-neuf. Je les ai toutes comptées. L'une après l'autre. Cinquante-neuf feuilles à l'avant-plan.


Lorsqu'on les regarde de loin, à première vue, ces feuilles semblent pratiquement similaires, toutes unies de façon à habiller les arbres d'une couleur automnale. Cependant, c'est en commençant à les peindre une à la fois que j'ai remarqué à quel point elles étaient toutes uniques. Dans cette scène, certaines feuilles se font plus discrètes que d'autres, la brise du moment ayant décidé quelles feuilles seraient mises en valeur. Le soleil a pour sa part choisi d'en illuminer quelques-unes, l'instant d'un doux rayon se diffusant à travers un léger feuillage. Chacune d'elle resplendit à sa façon, et c'est en fait l'unicité de chaque feuille qui embellit l'arbre. Même les feuilles commençant à flétrir, pourvus de trous ou débutant leur décoloration, sont totalement parfaites dans leur imperfection. Chacune joue individuellement un rôle graphique différent, mais tout autant important afin d'illustrer au final la beauté de ces érables. 


J'aime beaucoup comparer les arbres aux humains, car je considère que les deux possèdent des caractéristiques communes. Toutes ces feuilles me donnent donc l'impression d'être ensemble une mini-société, vivant dans leur communauté s'appelant "Érable". Si on observe une foule de loin, on remarque à première vue un rassemblement de gens. Pourtant, en s'approchant, les gens deviennent des individus à part entière, chacun dans son individualité et ses différences. Le caractère unique de chaque personne devient alors la richesse de cette foule, telle la diversité de ces feuilles est au cœur de la beauté de ces érables.


J'espère bien, dans la création de toutes ces feuilles, avoir accompli ma mission initiale, c'est-à-dire exprimer la beauté des arbres. Je crois sincèrement que l'ambiance du magnifique Parc nature de l'Île-aux-Tourtes ne serait pas la même en l'absence de ces splendides feuillus !

Unique

Unique
Transfert d'image
00:18
Lire la vidéo

Transfert d'image

Utilisation d'un médium mixte
00:13
Lire la vidéo

Utilisation d'un médium mixte

Création de l'écorce
00:29
Lire la vidéo

Création de l'écorce

Peinture des feuilles
00:35
Lire la vidéo

Peinture des feuilles

bottom of page